A Spicy Little Twist

Hello family, friends and fellow bloggers!

Hard to believe it is Friday already, where has this week gone.  This morning it’s beautiful outside, yesterday (Thursday) had to be the worst day weather wise that have seen in Michigan for a very long time.  It rained here almost all day and when early evening arrived it was gray and gloomy, it almost looked like it was closer to 9:00 p.m. then 5:00 p.m.

I know we need the rain for crops and to replace water that has evaporated from oceans, lakes and streams.  The mature adult in me says this is a good thing, I like my fresh fruits and vegetables and don’t want to pay higher prices due to lack of supply because of drought, but the hidden child within says “NO…I need the heat and sunshine!”

If the truth be known, if we didn’t have the close relationships that we have with our grandchildren and the rest of our family here in Michigan, we would be gone.  Hawaii would be ideal, Arizona, Texas, Louisiana, even the Carolina’s could entice me to call them my home.  Walt’s company has locations in all of those places, actually they have multiple locations in all 50 states and across the globe, so if we wanted to make a move it would be very possible.  Internationally, I’d move to Italy no questions asked!

BUT…my grandbabies are here, our families are here so we’ll stay here.  I can continue to fake my love of snow until the last grandchild is too old to want to play in the snow with grandma and papa.  Isn’t it amazing what you’ll do for those you love?

Today’s recipe is a tasty “Taco Stroganoff.”  I repined it on Pinterest but when you click on the recipe it takes you to food.com where the recipe is posted.  I have also made a “Mexican Stroganoff” taken from the Campbell’s Soup website which is made with taco seasoning and mushroom soup and although the Campbell’s one is tasty…the Taco Stroganoff is now our favorite hands down.

We found this dish to be delicious, a nice little twist on beef stroganoff, with just a little kick to it.  I usually read the reviews for recipes I find on-line to see what people thought of the recipe or to get tips.  If you go to the website and read the reviews you will find that this received very good reviews but you may notice that a couple of people said it was dry….that was not the case when we made it.  It was moist and delicious.  The only thing I can think of that would have made this dish dry is perhaps the fact people added too much pasta.  For us it turned out great.

Walt and I both had some for lunch the next day and we each fixed it a little differently.  I added just a tiny splash of milk, set the microwave for 30 seconds, heated it, stirred and then put it back in for an additional 30 seconds.  Walt did not add the milk and reheated in the microwave for about a minute …his text to me “Lunch was awesome!”  And then of course he asked “What’s for dinner?”

TACO STROGANOFF

Taco Stroganoff 

http://www.food.com/recipe/taco-stroganoff-255665?soc=pinterest

Ingredients

    • 1 small onion, chopped
    • 1 lb ground beef
    • 1 (1 1/4 ounce) envelopes taco seasoning mix
    • 1/2 cup water
    • 1 (14 1/2 ounce) cans corn, drained ( use type with diced peppers)
    • 1 (8 ounce) packages cream cheese ( chives and onion flavor)
    • 1 cup shredded cheddar cheese
    • 8 ounces egg noodles, cooked and drained

Directions

  • Cook onions and ground beef in large saute pan until beef is browned.
  • Drain fat.
  • Add taco seasoning, water and corn to beef mixture in pan; cook 1-2 minutes.
  • Add cream cheese and cheddar; cook until it heated through and cheese melts.
  • Serve over noodles or toss with noodles.
    Serve with a salad (Next time I’m going to make my sweet cornbread with it too!)
    ENJOY!!

    ENJOY!!

2 thoughts on “A Spicy Little Twist

  1. Hi, thanks for stopping by. Now wouldn’t that be great if I could just pack them all up and move them with me!! The Taco Stroganoff was really tasty, had just a little kick to it. If you try it drop us a note on how well you liked it.

Leave a Reply

