Did I Or Didn’t I? I Hope I Did…….

Happy Wednesday family, friends and fellow bloggers!!  For most…..not all, the week is officially half way over.  I wonder if there are any statistics on what the percentages are for people who have Saturday and Sunday off as opposed to other days of the week.  Hmmmm, I guess this is one of those…”not much going on today, let my mind wander” kind of questions and observation.  Anyway…..I hope everyone is having a great week so far and that no matter where you are you are enjoying great weather!!

I have to say there is not a lot going on here so far this week and I am surprised.  I went to an end of the year program at Joshua’s school on Monday, I love hanging out with kids, they get so excited an pumped up.  It’s amazing to watch teachers and aids gain control of the auditorium, they are handling a couple hundred kids and I have a problem handing three from time to time.  I need to use that hand in the air, count down from 5 routine that started out sounding like crazy fans waiting for a rock concert to start to the silence of Sunday Morning mass (well almost anyway).

I’ve had a couple of calls about jobs which is a good sign.  Unfortunately one of them is not a permanent position and the other is just to far of a drive, about 55 miles one way.  Although not promising, it’s a good sign….I am getting calls so I will keep the faith that something will come up sooner rather than later.

I may have saved a little old lady from being followed home and robbed, I’m not sure but it sure was suspicious, the police agreed.  I pulled in the grocery store parking lot and was finishing up a phone conversation with Walt when I noticed a man approach a little old lady probably in her mid 80’s while she walked to her car.  Don’t ask me why, but it just did not sit well with me at all.

I waited and I watched…I am almost certain the lady in the jeep was an accomplice in a second car, I can’t be sure.  The man walked the elderly lady to her car, talked with her for a few minutes then walked to his car which was parked behind the jeep and a few spaces away from the elderly lady.

A few minutes later the man got out of his car again and walked over to the older lady, he took her shopping cart and instead of sliding her cart into the cart coral he lifted the cart over the railing which was odd to me, that’s when he spotted me watching.  He got in his car and sat there.  Was he waiting for the elderly lady to pull out?  The lady in the jeep pulled out and parked in front of the far exit which faces the opposite road and is at the opposite end of the parking lot.  Why not pull out?  Traffic was clear.

The elderly lady got in her car, pulled out and passed the man in his car.  He immediately backed out and got behind her, I couldn’t get his license plate, it was obstructed….he got behind her but he saw me pull out of my parking spot.  We pulled onto the main road, once on the road I slid my car between his and the elderly lady, he watched me as I passed him.  He then turned into a side road, I don’t know what happened to the lady in the jeep at the other exit facing the other road, maybe she was waiting to see if the lady was going to go that way, I don’t know.

I followed the woman home, at least I think it was her home, I wanted to make sure she wasn’t being followed by the gray car or the jeep.  I came home and called the police.  I should have handled things differently, I should have called the police first instead of pulling out and cutting in between the man in question and the little old lady, but all I could think of was that the police weren’t going to get there in time.

The officer I spoke with said that I probably scared the guy off, I hope I did, he said I should have called them first.  I know he is right, but I just didn’t want her to be another statistic.  I didn’t want to open our Wednesday community paper to find out that a little old lady was found hurt and robbed in her home.

Walt always tells me that I am not aware of my surroundings, he might be right, I am trusting, I smile and greet, I am a chit chatter….yes I was the one who in the mountains, told some man who sweeping out a cave, that this off the beaten path…path had kicked my behind and I was tired but the scenery was beautiful and I loved finding the hidden waterfalls.  I believed the man when he said he worked for the State and was cleaning, that he had family in Michigan close to where we live,  all the while Walt is trying to get me to keep moving, he thought the guy could have been a serial killer (he thinks I spend too much time on the ID channel???)….but I made mindless conversation, in the middle of the woods, on a  mountain, no one knowing where we were, chatting with a man sweeping out a cave.  So you kind of get the idea of Walt’s concern.  Obviously I am writing this so Walt was wrong.  The story is so much funnier when he tells it.

But this did catch my attention and maybe it was nothing, but if was something, I’m glad that it caught my attention…I’m glad that I didn’t look the other way.  I just hope that if I was right, there is someone else watching and if it happens again to another senior citizen, that the next person gets involved and can get the license plate.

Today I have a great recipe for you….it’s quick and easy, we love it.

I found it a long time ago on the Campbell Soup Recipe Site, I do make one slight modification, I add an extra can of soup and an extra 1/3 cup of milk.

CHEDDAR BROCOLLI CHICKEN AND MASHED POTATOES

CHEDDAR BROCOLLI CHICKEN & MASHED POTATOES

Ingredients

Take This……….

1     Tablespoon  vegetable oil

4    Skinless, boneless chicken breast halves (about 1 pound)

2    Can (10 3/4 ounces) Campbell’s® Condensed Broccoli Cheese Soup (Regular or 98% Fat Free)

2/3 cup  milk

2  cups fresh or frozen broccoli florets

4  cups hot mashed potatoes

Directions

  • Heat the oil in a 10-inch skillet over medium-high heat.
  • Add the chicken and cook until well browned on both sides.
  • Stir the soup, milk and broccoli in the skillet and heat to a boil.
  • Reduce the heat to low.
  • Cover and cook for 5 minutes or until the chicken is cooked through.
  • Serve the chicken and sauce over the potatoes.

http://www.campbellkitchen.com/recipedetail.aspx?recipeId=25074

To Make This……

*Photo’s property of N. Rezich, reposting, copying, or sharing not permitted.

Leave a Reply

