I’m Hooked On The Drama………..

Hello family, friends and fellow bloggers!  Hope everyone had a great weekend.

I am hooked on the drama……….the drama of The Real Housewives of New Jersey and The Real Housewives of Orange County; these are my two favorites and I always make sure that I catch them on their regularly scheduled airing night.  I like and check in on the Beverly Hills and New York groups, I never watch Atlanta or Miami (I think that’s what it is).  Atlanta the women just get on my nerves and Miami I just can’t put my finger on why I don’t like it.

NJ and OC is like watching a train wreck….you know should turn away, you know it’s going to be bad but you watch any way, wanting to see what really happens.  I cannot believe these women are rich and that some of them are supposedly successful business women.  Well I guess is if you read the tabloids most of them have financial issues which question their riches so maybe not so rich.

Last weeks episode of Orange County was one of my favorite in a long time.  The women went on a trip to Costa Rica and it was funny….it actually reminded me of some of their earlier seasons.  The funniest and my most favorite part was when they went zip lining, they were flirty and funny, something we haven’t seen in a long…long time.   Don’t get me wrong, I think Vicki is a hypocrite, Tamara is a slut (can I use that word on here?), Alex is fake, Gretchen needs to grow up, dump deadbeat Slade and quit relying on her looks.  Heather, the new girl, should get out while getting out is good and her and her husbands reputations are intact.

It’s really easy to have an opinion of how each of them could improve their lives when you’re watching about 30 minutes of edited, maybe even scripted episodes.  After some of the things they say and do, I don’t know how they actually can be successful business people…..yet I watch, faithfully.

These are not shows that Walt will watch, if he walks into the room and they are on, he will watch for a few minutes, turn and look at me and say….”I cannot believe you are watching this.”  Like clock work, every time, you would think by now he would quit saying it – LOL.  He thinks all they do is eat lunch and dinner and drink.  If you asked him what the series is about that’s what he would tell you, it’s about rich women who eat, drink and bitch.  But I love it, I do watch and I am hooked on two of them, I can’t wait for Sunday and Tuesday nights, I watch every week and can’t wait for the next episode, I am bummed when the season ends.

When my friend Tina is in town and we meet for lunch or before Teresa moved to Paris and we would met for dinner, Walt will/would always say….”Remember, you are not a Real Housewife, eat some place cheap and go light on the wine.”  My husband….the comedian.

But it’s Tuesday night …..Orange County night, the night of the mean girls.  I have to get some things done and make sure I’m ready for drama…..for Alexis’ tears and Vicki’s melt down.  Watching them makes me grateful I have great family and friends.

Grilled Italian Sausages with Red Onions & Red Peppers

We love sausages on the grill.  Usually I make them with onion, yellow/orange/red peppers.  The buns have always been  a challenge, hot dog buns are too small, brat buns have too much bread for us, we feel like we’re eating all bun that covers up the taste of the sausage!

While going through some old grilling books, I found a recipe card for Grilled Italian Sausages with red peppers, red onion and pasta sauce.  The pasta sauce didn’t sound appealing to us but what did that catch my attention was that it was all served in a flour tortilla!

Walt grilled the sausages on the gas grill until they reached 160 degrees (about 45 minutes).

I sliced up half of a large red onion and a red pepper and sautéed them in 3 tbls. of butter and 2 tbls. of Worcester sauce.

We placed the grilled sausages with peppers and onions on the tortilla, rolled them up and served.

They were delicious…..no more buns for us!!

Leave a Reply

