Michigan Weather Reality Check………

Happy Friday family, friends and fellow bloggers!!

I love the movie Moonstruck with Cher and Nicholas Cage……I watch it every time it reruns.  One of my favorite scenes is between Ronny Cammareri (Cage)  and Loretta Castorini (Cher).  Ronny is Loretta’s future brother-in-law.  While Loretta’s future husband is off to Italy to see his dying mother, Loretta visits Ronny to try to repair a rift between Ronny and her husband to be.  Upon meeting an attraction is immediate and soon they find themselves spending time and a night together.  The next day Ronny tells Loretta that he loves her……Loretta slaps his face twice and says “Snap out of it!”

That is exactly what happened to me today by Mother Nature.  Just as I was comfortably settling in to the great weather we’ve been enjoying in Michigan over the last several weeks Mother Nature decided to drop the temps to the 50’s, she pulled out the heavy cloud blanket which covered up the sun, and decided it was time to take a long shower.  It’s Mother Nature’s way of saying “Snap out of it kid, you live in Michigan….anything is possible, I just want to remind you of who’s in charge.”

Mother Nature……..your message has been delivered loud and clear.  It’s chilly, it’s damp, and I am not sure that the sweater I am wearing is going to do it, I may have to pull out one of the pull over sweatshirts I have from Joshua’s school.  Instead of running around barefoot (which is how I spend most of my summer), I put on a pair of the knitted booties my mom makes and am now seriously considering adding thick socks to the mix.  I have closed all the windows and I hate to admit it I have also thought about turning the furnace back on “just to get the chill out.”  Turning on the furnace is a last resort, before that I could always bake cookies or brownies and a hang out in the kitchen which then turns out to be a win-win situation….warmth and goodies!

I cannot believe that this day is going by so fast it’s already 1:00 p.m. and I’ve accomplished nothing except emptying the dishwasher, having a cup of coffee and a few pecan sandies, catching up on some of my favorite blogs (I am really behind in my reading), and I am just now in the middle of writing today’s blog.  It wouldn’t be so bad if I woke up at 11:00 a.m. and had accomplished all of that, but I’ve been awake since 6:30 a.m.!!  I’m going to blame it on the weather!

So…in an effort to keep motivation going and blood flowing to increase body heat, I am going to correct an error from a previous post, give you me recipe for today and then log off, throw in a load of laundry and work on one of the craft projects I started for the yard.

In my May 24, 2012 blog “Summer Is For Family, Food and Fun,” I listed the wine we had with dinner that night.  In an effort to help me, Walt got the empty bottle and spelled out the name which I typed as he read it off.  Unfortunately the letters are not easily identifiable and he misread them which I realized when I saw the empty bottle in the recycle bin.  So here goes….the wine was a white wine, Duca d’ Amalfi – 2010 – Valdadige – Bianco.  It’s a delicious Italian wine with hints of pear and peach, it really is delicious.  I purchased it when I attended a private wine tasting and now wish I would have purchased a few more bottles.  I am currently trying to find out if my local wine shop, who carries just about everything, has this in stock, if not I can order it on-line.

My recipe for you today is Parmesan Chicken Scampi, it’s one of our favorite dishes.

Parmesan Chicken Scamp

Parmesan Chicken Scampi

Chicken

1 lbs. boneless chicken breasts

1 cup italian style bread crumbs

1/4 cup Parmesan cheese

Miracle Whip Salad Dressing

Directions for Chicken

  • Pre-heat oven to 425 degrees
  • Combine bread crumbs with Parmesan cheese – mixing well
  • Spread chicken with miracle whip salad dressing (you can use mayo as well)
  • Dredge chicken breasts in bread crumb/Parmesan mixture
  • Brown in oil – drain
  • Bake for 30 minutes – checking to make sure it is cook through- adjust bake time to longer if necessary
  • Keep warm

Vegetables

Slice vegetables of choice, I used:

  • Red onion cut in half then thinly sliced
  • Half of red pepper thinly sliced
  • Half of yellow pepper thinly sliced
  • Half of orange pepper thinly sliced

2 tsp olive oil

4 cloves garlic, minced

2 tbsp butter

¼  tsp salt

½ tsp pepper

3 cups chicken stock

1 cup grated parmesan cheese

¾ cup heavy cream

2 tbsp chopped fresh parsley

Sauce Directions

  • Heat olive oil in a pot
  • Add garlic and vegetables – 2 to 3 minutes
  • Mix in the butter until it melts
  • Add salt, pepper and chicken stock
  • Raise heat and bring to a boil
  • Add pasta and stir well
  • Reduce heat
  • Add Parmesan and mix until melted
  • Add cream and parsley – mix well
  • Cook over medium heat until heated through and sauce thickens slightly
  • Add pasta of choice (I used 1-lb Angel Hair Pasta)
  • Mix and serve

HAVE A GREAT WEEKEND EVERYONE!

Leave a Reply

