Sometimes “Tweaking” Doesn’t Work Out

Happy Wednesday family, friends and fellow bloggers.  I can’t believe it is already Wednesday……Monday holidays really do throw off the week don’t they?  If you’re like us, Wednesday is the day that we start to get ready for our weekend and today is no exception, it just seems like Wednesday just got here awfully fast, I’m still putting away decorations and party things from Memorial Day!

I wish we could grill out more during the week, it’s just difficult with Walt’s hours and he really is the grill master, I am just the “Sous Chef.”  As I write that, I come to the realization that Walt is not my “Sous Chef” when I am preparing meals in the kitchen.  Wondering how that happened – LOL.  I guess if the truth be known, I generally don’t like anyone in my kitchen with me…..just ask my bestie Tina, I think I may have kicked her out of my kitchen a time or two.  Thank goodness she knows me so well and doesn’t take it personally.  I am getting better at it though, letting people help, for the family bbq this past weekend, Mom and Greg both helped me in the kitchen and I would have to say ….. in my mom’s words (which is a funny story in itself) “I’m holding back” any comments on their performance.  Just kidding, it was fun having them help me out with last-minute stuff.

Anyway, re-entering the freeway of my original thought……..Walt has his method of preparing both the gas and the charcoal grills which I have never taken any interest in learning, leaving us with the inability to bbq more often during the week.  Yes, we could remedy that, I could learn, but really…..I don’t want to.  It would take away most, if not all of our fun time together, it’s kind of like our therapy, let’s us pick on each other in a funny sort of way that when the experience is retold to family and friends it turns out to be comical story.

Which is the case with last weeks “Zesty Garlic Shrimp.”  It is an appetizer, Walt wanted to make it the day we made the steaks and serve them together.  I on the other hand thought it was too much and convinced Walt that we could turn it into a meal, serve them with cheddar/brocoli rice.  He suggested a Caesar Salad as well, and I said “oh no, we don’t need a salad, the shrimp and rice will fill us up.”   That was just the beginning on how the “tweaking” went in the wrong direction.

On Friday morning Walt wanted to run up to Randazzo to pick up the jumbo shrimp, when we saw the shrimp  in the display case on Tuesday night, the day we bought the salmon for our dinner on Wednesday with mom and dad, there was a ton of jumbo shrimp and it looked fresh.  I reminded him of how full the case was Tuesday night, assuring him that they keep it full and that we could go later in the day to pick it up.  Mistake number two……when Walt got to Randazzo there was hardly any jumbo shrimp and what was in the case was not appealing.

When Walt got back to the car (I didn’t go in, didn’t think there was a need), he informed me that there was no jumbo shrimp and perhaps we should make something else, I, very proud of my self, said “hey, I have some frozen shrimp in the freezer, it’s not jumbo shrimp but it’s just us it’ll turn out ok.”  Mistake number three.

So we head back home, minus jumbo shrimp pull out the shrimp from the freezer to thaw it under running water.  We worked together to make the marinade, me chopping the garlic and Italian parsley, Walt measuring out the spices.  Walt mixed the ingredients together and placed it all in zip lock bag and we went about the rest of our afternoon.  Things seemed to be coming together very well, there was much anticipation for this great meal we were going to make out of appetizers.

Close to dinner time, Walt got the grill ready and I started the rice.   This is actually the moment when I thought (not said…thought)……”ya know, this just might not be enough, maybe I should have gone with the side salad.”  BUT….I kept my thoughts to myself and continued to take pictures for the blog.  As Walt began questioning the quantity, I assured him that it would be definitely be enough on this hot day and to “remember, rice is filling.”

I would have to say that this is probably the quickest dinner ever consumed.  I mean….come on, how long does it take to eat regular sized shrimp right?  When we were done the only thing left on our plates was the little tails.  Walt said “ya know, I’m kind of still hungry.”  Me…”no you’re not, it’s just because you are still sitting here, once we start clean up you’ll be fine.”  After we finished cleaning up and came back out to the patio to sit and relax Walt said, “you know, you’re right, I guess I just wanted more because we were still at the table.”  I wasn’t going to admit that I could have probably eaten another skewer or two, after all, it was me who talked him into the changes in the first place.

So, in complete agreement, at 10:00 p.m. that night…………we ordered a BBQ Chicken Pizza from Jets and laughed a lot.

I need to add here that the “Zesty Garlic Shrimp” was fantastic and we should have served it as an appetizer (as it was intended) or as a side with our steak the day before.  Also, there is a big difference between jumbo shrimp and medium shrimp.  Maybe if we made it with jumbo shrimp it would have been more filling, or maybe the side salad was all the medium shrimp needed to complete the meal.  Perhaps we should have made a few more skewers.  But we are “Tweakers,” we are not afraid to shake things up a little bit …. try something new, add something different.  It’s all part of the adventure.

Will we make this again?  Absolutely.

Will we make it into a main course?  Absolutely NOT.  Well, I always say….”never say never” so maybe, but with some changes and better planning.

So here is the recipe Walt followed for “Zesty Garlic Shrimp”, he found it in “Weber’s Big Book of Grilling (Jamie Purviance and Sandra McRae) – page 75 under “Starters.”  Yes, I know, as they say in “Blues Clues”  “IT’S A CLUE!!, IT’S A CLUE!!”

Walt used the gas grill for this one.

ZESTY GARLIC SHRIMP

Zesty Garlic Shrimp (Photo taken by and property of N. Rezich, copying, reproducing or publishing not permitted)

MARINADE

1/4 cup extra-virgin olive oil

2 tbsp fresh lemon juice

2 tbsp finely chopped italian parsley

2 tsp dried oregano

1 1/2 tsp minced garlic (we are going to increase this amount next time)

1 tsp grated lemon zest

1/2 tsp kosher salt

1/4 tsp freshly ground black pepper

1/4 teaspoon crushed red pepper flakes

SHRIMP

20 jumbo shrimp (about 1 1/4 lbs) peeled and deveined

1 tbsp fie dried bread crumbs (Walt used more – you’ll note in photo how he did ours)

Directions for preparing shrimp in marinade

  • In a medium bowl whist together the marinade ingredients
  • Place shrimp in a large, resealable plastic baggie
  • Pour marinade into bag
  • Press the air out of the bad and seal tightly
  • Turn the bag to distribute the marinade
  • Place bag in a bowl refrigerate for at least 30 minutes – up to one hour

Marinade – Whisk all ingredients together (Photo taken by and property of N. Rezich, copying, reproducing and/or republishing not permitted)

 

Place shrimp in resealable baggie and pour in marinade – refrigerate 30 minutes to 1 hour. (Photo taken by and property of N. Rezich, copying, republishing, or reproducing not permitted)

 

Grilling Shrimp Skewers

Remove the shrimp from the baggie and discard marinade

Thread the shrimp onto skewers

Thread shrimp onto skewers (Photo taken by and property of N. Rezich. Copying, reproducing or republishing not permitted)

Sprinkle bread crumbs evenly over the shrimp

Spread breadcrumbs over shrimp. Note: Walt put a layer of crumbs on the tray then lay the shrimp down and sprinkled more over top. (Photo taken by and property of N. Rezich. Copying, reproducing and/or republishing not permitted)

 

Grill over Direct Medium heat until just opaque in the center and firm to the touch –  4 to 6 minutes

Grill over “direct medium heat.” (Photo taken by and property of N. Rezich. Copying, reproducing and redistributing is not permitted)

Turn the skewers halfway through grilling time

Serve warm

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

