Something Old…Something New… Dealing With The Changes

Hello family and fellow bloggers, Happy Friday and the start of the Memorial Day Weekend!!  Here in Michigan it is a beautiful afternoon, the sun is shinning, there is a warm breeze and the smell of fresh-cut lawn is in the air.  Love being able to sit on the patio with a tall glass of lemonade and write!

I am sure many, if not all, have heard the expression “He’s an old soul.”  I think that I was born an “old soul.”  I don’t like change, I like things to stay the way they are.  I am always behind on modern technology and when I do get my feet wet in it, so to speak, there have already been four or five upgrades to the original version I am just introducing myself to.  I have to  say that I am probably getting a little better at the technology part only because of my children and grandchildren, you almost have to trail closely behind in order not to get lost or left behind in what is going on in their lives.

Surprising to myself and many others, I am way ahead of Papa Walt in the technology arena (keep in mind way ahead for me is like two houses down the block), which is odd, because he is usually the one who understands technical mumbo-jumbo.  Papa is struggling to figure out how to get the internet on his phone (we’ve had them for over a year), is just getting the hang of sending and accepting pictures through his phone (I have this almost mastered), and he has just realized that I no longer have carry my Michaels or Meijer coupons around with me, I just have to bring them up on my phone and the store will take care of the rest.  Instead of asking, “How’d you do that?” he ask, “Is that going to cost us more money on our plan?”  Gotta love the Papa Walt!

This brings us to the changes that have occurred on WordPress that have left me lost and baffled.  I want the old way back!  The one that was here the last time I wrote my blog in early April of this year!!  I do not like the new scroll down version of finding articles and reading articles.  I think it was so much easier when there were, I don’t know, 12 or 16 articles on one page?  You click on one and the blog is there, easy to read.  I am sure I will catch up eventually but for the last 24 hours I have been completely lost, it’s going to take me a while to figure it out, hopefully not too long.

The new things that I don’t mind dealing with is new recipes, especially if they for the grill.  I mentioned in yesterday’s blog that Walt is on vacation this week and we had promised ourselves that each night we would try a new recipe for the grill.  Last night we had “New York Strip Steaks with Red-Eye Barbeque Sauce” and they were fantastic!!  Walt grilled the steaks to perfection and I made a huge tossed salad.  A glass of iced tea for me, an ice-cold beer for Walt, it was the perfect way to unwind at the end of the day, relaxing and enjoying our patio.

I generally don’t like anything on my steak, I NEVER use A-1, Heinz 57 or any type of steak sauce.  I just don’t like the taste of it.  The only reason I tried this sauce last night was because Walt had made it and I am so glad that I did, it was delicious.  I didn’t pour it on my  steak like Walt did, I had mine on the side and dipped, it was a great complement to the meat, a very tasty compliment.

Today I will share with you “New York Strip Steaks with red-Eye Barbecue Sauce” taken from Weber’s Charcoal Grilling – The Art of Cooking with Live Fire (page 60).  Although the recipe indicates it is for 4-6 servings, we only grilled two steaks but Walt made the sauce exactly as written in the recipe.  We have leftover sauce which I am sure he’ll find something tasty to use it on.

NEW  YORK STRIP STEAKS WITH RED-EYE BARBECUE SAUCE

Prep Time:   15 minutes

Grilling  Time:  8 to 10 minutes

The Sauce

The Sauce

  • 1/2 cup ketchup
  • 1/2 cup beef stock (low sodium)
  • 1/4 cup strong brewed coffee
  • 1 tbsp. Worcestershire sauce
  • 1 tsp. Molasses
  • 1/2 tsp. pure chile powder
  • 1/2 tsp. granulated onion
  • 1/4 tsp. freshly ground black pepper
  • 1/4 tsp. kosher salt

In a small sauce pan mix the sauce ingredients with 1/4 cup  water.  Bring to a boil over high heat then reduce the heat to a simmer and cook for 5 to 7 minutes, stirring occasionally.  Remove pan from heat.

Grill:

Prepare a two-zone fie for high heat using mesquite lump charcoal.

Steaks

4 New york strip steaks, each about 12 ounces and 1 1/4 inches thick.  Trim excess fat

In a small bowl mix:

  • 3 tbsp. vegetable oil
  • 1 tbsp. Worcestershire sauce
  • 1 tbsp. red wine vinegar
  • 1 tbsp. freshly ground black pepper
  • 2 tsp. kosher salt

Brush mixture over both sides of the steaks

Let the steaks sit at room temperature for 20 to 30 minutes before grilling.

Grilling

  • Brush the cooking grate clean
  • Sear steaks over direct high heat with the lid closed as much as possible for about 6 minutes turning once and swapping their positions as needed for even cooking.
  • Move the steaks over indirect high heat and cook, with the lid closed as much as possible, until they reach your desired doneness about 2-4 minutes for medium rate, occasionally turning and brushing with some of The Sauce.
  • Remove from the grill and let the steaks rest for 3-5 minutes.
  • Serve warm with the remaining sauce.

Direct Heat

 

Indirect heat – brush on sauce

 

Serve with additional sauce – DELICIOUS!

 

Serve with just a salad or with a salad and baked potato.  You won’t be disappointed!!

 

 

 

 

2 thoughts on “Something Old…Something New… Dealing With The Changes

  1. I liked WordPress the old way too. Wow, a new recipe everyday for a week? Sounds fun! The steak looks delicious!

    • Hi, thanks for stopping by our little blog!! We’ve had a great food adventure this week and all in the comfort of our backyard!! The steak was fantastic! If you try it drop us a note and let us know how it turned out. Have a great weekend!

Leave a Reply

