Porked Out Papa

Yesterday I mentioned that I was in springtime meal planning turmoil……today it has moved to melt down thanks to Papa Walt.  UGH…………..

On Monday of this week I made the “Thrown Together Pork Chops.”  On Tuesday I made Walt’s favorite, he would eat this 7 days a week………my spaghetti.  Yesterday, once again trying to think outside this “BLOCK” I’m in, I came up with a recipe for sweet and sour baked ribs.

I was rolling right along in my own self satisfied little world (because the house smelled yummy as the ribs baked) until Walt walked through the door and said “Pork…..again?”  “We just had pork on Monday.”  There is no doubt in my mind that when I turned to look at him my jaw had dropped.

Walt:  “What’s wrong?”

Me:  “You’re joking right?”

Walt: “No, we just had pork chops on Monday, I took one to lunch on Tuesday and now you’re making pork again on Wednesday.”  “That’s a lot of pork for one week.”

Me: “Are you serious?”

Walt; “Yes.”

Me:  “Ok, let me make sure I get this right….you will eat beef several times a week cooked multiple ways, as well as chicken, but you won’t eat pork twice in one week.”

Walt:  “No….I’m not really that big a fan of pork.”

Really?  Since when?  This coming from the man who will chew his fingers off eating his famous BBQ Baby Back Ribs every summer (they are really delicious, we all eat our fingers off) without gasping out in pain, the same man who cries (almost) when there aren’t any left over for a second lunch,.  Now he announces that he will not eat “PORK” twice in one week.

I finished getting dinner ready and shortly after we started eating I asked what he thought and got “It’s ok….maybe a little bland.”  Hmmmm…Bland?  Really?  They were not bland….and Burger King is on the corner………but I didn’t go there…….I  laughed to myself when he went back for seconds of those “BLAND” ribs.

Today I watched as Walt made peanut butter and jelly for lunch………I am not going to feel guilty.  There are two perfectly good ribs and white rice in the fridge that would have made an awesome lunch.  As he was finishing up his PBNJ….I asked;

Me:  Not taking the ribs for lunch?

Walt:  “Nope…….pork burn out.”

Me:  (Laughing)  You really are not going to let this go are you?

Walt:  “Nope………and please don’t put pork on the menu for next week.”

Me:  “You know, pork is the other white meat, I don’t see you having a problem with eating chicken a few times a week.”

Walt: “I’m porked out.”

Now I have to make it clear here, this is not an agument, there are no hurt feelings.  I am actually cracking up as I write this remembering how these conversations played out.  The tone, the facial expressions, his shocke and the seriousness of his concern that I made pork twice in one week.  Like aliens had invaded our home and took over my cooking ability.

I do have to wonder though..how ironic is it that I admit on Wednesday afternoon I am in a cooking funk and stuck on meal planning only to have Walt come  home a few hours later and announces he is “porked out” which now narrows the recipe pool by one for the next week.  It is already Thursday which is my normal grocery shopping day and I still don’t have my menu plan ready for the next week.

I’m not worried, within the next few hours I’ll get it, it won’t take long I have tons and tons of recipes I’ve been waiting to try………….and you can be sure, PORK will not be on next week’s menu.

Here is the recipe I threw together last night….I have to apologize, as I am writing this ending I realized that I never took pictures last night.

SWEET AND SOUR BAKED COUNTRY RIBS

Ingredients

1.5 lbs.                          Boneless Pork Country Ribs

2-3                                Cloves of garlic – minced/chopped finely

1                                     8.5 oz. Plum Sauce

1                                     8 oz. can crushed pinapple with juice

2.5 tbsp.                       Soy Sauce

2.5 tbsp.                       Red Wine Vinegar

1 tsp.                             Ginger (More if desired)

1                                     Green Pepper Sliced (Optional)

 

Directions

  1. Mix Plum Sauce, garlic, soy sauce, red wine vinegar and ginger in a large bowl.
  2. Place ribs in a 2.2 quart baking dish
  3. Pour Plum Sauce mixture over ribs
  4. Cover and refrigerate 30 minutes

PREHEAT OVEN TO 350 DEGREES

  • Remove from refrigerator and add pineapple (including juice) and green pepper
  • Cover and bake for 1.5 – 2 hours

*I wanted a thicker sauce so 10 mnutes before I took the ribs out of the oven I removed the foil and added a mixture of 2 Tbsp. corn starch mixted with water to the plum sauce to thicken it up.

Serve with white rice.

 

12 thoughts on “Porked Out Papa

  1. LOL…I can see you two having that ‘discussion’.

    I say you leave pork off the menu until he notices and says something…then say. “Well I didn’t know how long your ‘pork burnout’ was going to last.”

  2. I guess I’d have to take Walt’s side in this – I like pork, but the burnout factor is higher with pork than it is for beef or chicken, for some reason. Of the three meats, it seems like chicken can be prepared in more ways, and pork is fairly limited as to what you can do with it. Although, as another commenter pointed out, bacon is pork, and nobody seems to mind having that five days a week!

    • LOL….I know, you guys all stick together!! Just kidding. I do agree with you….pork is pork, and no matter what you try to do with it (other than Baby Back Ribs), it tastes like pork with very little you can do to distinguish it. Thanks for stopping by!

Leave a Reply

