What to do…what to do…….Nap OR Blog???

I guess the answer is obvious…..I am blogging instead of napping although the nap sounds REALLY….REALLY…..REALLY appealing.  Yesterday I did make a commitment to get back into blogging so the nap will either have to wait OR I’ll sneak a quick one in afterward.  I am generally not a “napper” so I don’t know where the need to take one is coming from today, maybe it’s a side effect of that last birthday I just celebrated.

We had a gorgeous day so far today….even with the wind the 68 degree temperatures were welcome after the 40’s earlier in the week.  The mild temperatures made for a nice day to run out and get a few errands taken care of.

My little buddy Lil E is coming over tomorrow for a few hours, his momma has a work meeting on this side of town tomorrow morning so my little guy is going to hang out with me for a few hours.  In anticipation of his arrival I headed to the grocery store for chocolate milk, apples, banana’s and Cheerio’s.  Don’t you just love that the cereal companies are now making these little single serving cereal cups?  I love them…..we never seem to finish off an almost $5.00 box of cereal before it gets stale, so these little cups, which I can usually get 2/$1.00 work out well.

It’s Wednesday so of course there was a trip to the Dollar Tree, they had a delivery yesterday so new goodies were put out today, a trip to Toys R us (shhhh….don’t tell Nikki) and of course I just had to stop at Michael’s (well they are just right across from Toys R Us)  to see what i could use my 40% off coupon on and they had a few things I needed for gift baskets I am working on.  Other than what I knew I had to pick up….Michael’s was a bust, nothing new or interesting on display.  Since the most expensive thing I picked up was $1.99 I didn’t want to waste that 40% coupon so I’ll try the other Michaels later this week, I need a “WELCOME” something….a wreath, hearts, something…anything…. for the entry way that can take me through the spring and into summer.  When I see it, I know it’ll be the one.

Is anyone else having the spring meal time blues?  Lately I am having a hard time filling in my weekly meal planner.  Although I love the mild temperatures we aren’t ready to really get into bbq season yet but unfortunately I am not in the mood for soups and stews anymore either.  I am in meal planning turmoil……….is anyone else???  As I search through cookbooks, websites and Pinterest (am I the only one who thinks Pinterest is just an OK site, still looking for the OMG effect?) there are a ton of chicken recipes out there, which we love, but I find few beef and pork recipes and when I do…..nothing jumps out at me and screams “MAKE ME…MAKE ME!!!

Monday I decided we were going to have pork chops…..at 3:00 p.m. in the afternoon I still had no idea what I was going to do with these pork chops so I decided to throw a few things together…….I am happy to report dinner turned out well.  When Walt asked where I found this recipe I simply replied…..”In the cupboard and refrigerator.”  He laughed when I told him I just threw a few thing together and just kept going.  Gotta love when that happens.

Enjoy!!

THROWN TOGETHER PORK CHOP AND STUFFING BAKE

THROWN TOGETHER PORK CHOP AND STUFFING BAKE

Pork Chop Ingredients

4                       Boneless Pork Chops

1.5 Cups          Italian Style Bread Crumbs

1/2 Cup           Grated Parmesean Cheese

1.5 Tsp.            Lawry’s Seasoning Salt

1 Cup                Flour

1                        Large Egg

2 Tbsp.            Water

1/4 cup            Crisco (add more if needed)

Stuffing Ingredients

4 cups              Pepperidge Farm Sage and Onion Stuffing

1/2 Cup           Chopped Onion

1/2 Cup            Chopped Mushrooms

4 Tbsp.             Butter

1-1/3 Cups       Chicken Broth
Pork Chop Directions

Preheat oven to 375 degrees

  1. Whisk egg and water together in a pie pan or shallow dish
  2. In another pie pan or shallow dish mix bread crumbs and Lawry’s seasoning salt
  3. Dredge chops in flour
  4. Dip in egg mixture
  5. Dredge in Italian Bread Crumbs
  6. In a large pan melt Crisco over medium heat
  7. Brown pork chops 5 minutes each side
  8. Remove from grease and drain on paper towel

Brown Pork Chops - 5 Minutes On Each Side

Stuffing Directions

  1. Melt butter – sautee’ onions and mushrooms (about 3-5 minutes)
  2. Add chicken broth
  3. Add stuffing crumbs – mix until moist

Assemble………

  1. Spread stuffing across bottom of a 2.2 quart rectangle baking dish
  2. Place pork chops on top of stuffing
  3. Cover with foil
  4. Bake 1 hour

I served this with mashed potatoes and made gravy from McCormicks gravy mix packet (great to keep on hand for emergencies!)

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

