#50…..Thank You Everyone

WoW  #50!!  Can’t believe I’ve written that many!!  Thanks everyone for following along and commenting on our little blog.

Happy Friday!  Hope your weekend is headed into something fun and relaxing.

We are busy getting ready for Joshua’s 8th birthday gathering this Sunday.  John is going to drive down from up north this weekend, our family will gather at our house for pizza (Joshua’s favorite thing to eat), vanilla cake, and ice cream.  It is my hope that the economy picks up soon so that John can find a job down here so he can move and be closer to his children, family and friends.

The “Wrongerologist” got me today…..the day started out pretty decent, the weather people said things would change during the rush hour; heavy rains, thunder storms and high winds moving in later tonight, we’re being told to prepare for power outages.  I don’t know about you, but I always consider rush hour 5:00 p.m.  So, thinking I had all this time before the weather turned, I headed out of the house around 12:00 p.m. to finish up a few last-minute errands for Sunday.  While at my last stop around 2:30 p.m., I was in the Hallmark store looking at birthday cards, (we have a lot of March Birthday’s), when I hear a loud thumping on the roof.

One word ran through my head “Ohhhhh Nooooooooooooooooooo!”  Why was this one of those days that I parked far away so that I could walk??  Why was this the day I left my coat in the back seat of the car and just wore my sweater since I was just running in and out of places?  Why didn’t I take at least one of the three umbrellas that are on the floor of the back seat?  (Yes, three…. please don’t ask me why, I don’t have an answer for you, Tina…..do not even say it – LOL.)

I know I didn’t misunderstand what the weatherman said, the two ladies reading cards behind me both stopped and looked around.  One said “that’s not….” while the other replied….”I think it is…..”  I laughed and said out loud…”oh no, that cannot possibly be rain.”  We all laughed and looked out the window and sure enough, it was a downpour.  We chatted for a few minutes about how each of us headed out thinking we had time before the “rush hour rain” was due to hit.

By the time I left the store the rain had slowed slightly but I did get drenched by the cold March rain. I am ok with the rain, it beats snow, my issue is with the weatherman who once again got it wrong causing me to get drenched!!!  But I am home now, nice and cozy, looking out the window watching the rain falling, the wind getting a little stronger.

My plan is to finish today’s blog and then relax and do some blog surfing to see what everyone else is up to.  Yesterday was grocery shopping day so dinner was a quick fix.

 With a box of this:

<em>Old El Paso taco</em> dinner <em>kit</em>; 12 yellow corn <em>taco</em> shells, mild ta8.8oz

 A can of this………..

<em>Old El Paso Refried Beans</em> - Traditional - 1 Can (16 oz)

 A can of that………

<em>Old el paso</em> chilies, green chili pepper <em>chopped</em>, 4.5-ounce cans ( ...

And a pound of this

Grass-fed <em>ground beef</em> - 6 pounds

A box of…….

<em>Old El Paso</em> Spanish <em>Rice</em>

8 oz. bag of……

<em>Kraft</em> Natural <em>Shredded Cheese Mexican</em> Four <em>Cheese</em>

Magically turned into this………

This is a really simple recipe to make.  Your tortilla’s, taco seasoning and taco sauce all come in the Soft Taco Kit.  The Spanish Rice can be made on the stove top or in the microwave, we like the stove top method.  If you use the microwave method you won’t have to start cooking your rice until much later than I say in my directions below.

I prefer to use the kit because it has soft taco size tortilla’s which are smaller than the burrito size tortilla’s.  This recipe will make 10 burrito’s, for us this is dinner for two days!

Nancy’s Short Cut Beef Burrito’s

  • Brown hamburger, drain fat
  • Add taco seasoning packet and water as directed on box
  • Add chile’s to taco meat mixture
  • Mix meat mixture well and cook according to package directions
  • While the meat is cooking start your Spanish Rice  –  cook according to package directions
  • When the taco meat mixture is complete, heat a few tortilla’s between at a time in the microwave, make sure you put them inbetween paper towels
  • In the center of tortilla layer refried beans, taco meat, taco sauce (from the kit), add a little cheese *watch how much cheese you use, you’ll need some to cover the top of the buritto’s as well
  • Fold the sides of the tortilla over the mixture – make sure they overlap
  • Place burrito’s in a 13×9″ baking pan (I line mine with foil and spray it with cooking spray)
  • Bake in a 350 degree oven for about 20 minutes
  • Spread remaining cheese on top of burrito’s and return to oven until cheese is melted and bubbly
  • Serve with rice and sour cream

NOTE:  These can be made earlier in the day and refrigerated, just make sure to adjust your cooking time in the oven so that they heat through before you put the cheese on top.

One thought on “#50…..Thank You Everyone

Leave a Reply

