Wrongerologist??

Walt and I have come up with our own pet name for our local meteorologists…..”Wrongerologist.”  The name says it all…..they are more often wrong than they are right.  Today they are calling for rain, turning to snow by 3:00 a.m. along with thunder and lightning.  The snow will continue increasing well into morning rush hour and piling up to 4-6 inches by 7:00 p.m. tomorrow night.

This from the same crew who just a few short weeks ago said we were going to get a “dusting” and it ended up snowing…..and snowing……and snowoing all day leaving about 5 inches by the time it was over.  I don’t know about anyone else but a “dusting” to me means that you can go out and brush it off with a broom, 5 inches requires a shovel and snowblower.

So….we will wait and see what happens this time.   As of right now the rain that was supposed to develop a few hours ago has not arrived.  Think I’ll just be surprised when I wake up in the morning.  However if it does snow, we are all set to hunker down for a few days without having to go anywhere for food, supplies or munchies!

Today was grocery shopping day, I have found that I don’t mind going as much now that I’ve started going several hours earlier in the day.  Unfortunately today everyone in town must be listening to the same “Wrongerologists” as we have been because everyone was at Meijer and Oakridge today.  It was packed, people were everywhere, on the right, on the left and stopped dead in the middle of the aisle and blocking freezer doors while they run to another aisle so they could get what they forgot when they were there.

The cutest sight was the little couple who looked to be about 90, they were comparing potato chips, name brands vs. Meijer brand.  It was so cute watching them with their heads together reading and trying to decide which one to get.  I have to say not an unkind or flippant word was spoken.  Neither one said “get whatever you want, I don’t care.”  Perhaps many years together has developed into teamwork.

Our teamwork comes in the form of cooking….I cook, Walt eats. So it’s nice when he walks through the door at the end of the day and asks “what’s for dinner?” and when I reply “an experiment” he doesn’t freak out or question what I’m doing, he trusts that I will make something that he will enjoy.  And if he doesn’t enjoy it I am confident that he will tell me ever so sweetly that I don’t have to make it again or that it’s ok if I don’t put it in the rotation.  So we have Teamwork……I cook, he eats.

Yesterday was an experiment.  It was Ash Wednesday, for we Catholics, it is the beginning of lent and a meat-less day so I had wanted to make a recipe I found for Cheese Ravioli in Sun Dried Tomato Alfredo Sauce.  The problem was I couldn’t find a jar at the stores I shop in so I had to punt.  I picked up an Alfredo Sauce and had already had sun-dried tomatoes in the cupboard so I figured what the heck…….marry the two and it’s the same thing.

So that’s what I did and it came out great….don’t you just love when that happens?  As we were eating dinner we were trying to decide if we liked this one more than the spinach alfredo sauce I’ve been making which I posted on here last month.  We both agree, it’s a toss-up.  Both are delicious with two definite distinct tastes.

So here you go, my experiment that came out pretty well………This is just way to easy for something so tasty!!

Sorry no photo….WP is not being cooperative tonight.

RAVIOLI IN SUN DRIED TOMATO ALFREDO SAUCE

Ingredients

1 pkg                         Frozen Cheese Ravioli

1 jar                           Alfredo Sauce

1 jar (7 oz)                Sun Dried Tomatoes in olive oil  – (I only used half a jar)

1/4 tsp.                     Basil

1 large                       Tomato – Chopped

                                    Grated Parmesan

Directions

  • Prepare Ravioli as directed on package
  • While Ravioli is cooking pour Alfredo Sauce in sauce pan
  • Chop half the jar of sun-dried tomatoes (you can use it all if you like) and add to sauce
  • Add Basil
  • Heat to bubbly and let simmer about 5 minutes
  • Meanwhile chop fresh tomato and add to sauce – simmer an additional 3-5 minutes
  • Remove from heat and mix with ravioli
  • Sprinkle with Parmesan
  • Serve with a salad or vegetable – DELICIOUS!
3 thoughts on “Wrongerologist??

    • Hi, thank you for stopping by and following our little blog. Wouldn’t you know it right now, just a little after 11:00 a.m., we have received about an inch maybe a little more. As I look out the window it is now a fine misty rain. Unless it gets cold quickly and soon, I don’t see our total adding up to 6 inches by 7:00. Looks like they were wrong again LOL. Hope you have a great Friday!!

  1. Hi Nancy,
    You reminded me of a joke I heard years ago… “Our local TV weatherman suddenly left town… yeah, the weather didn’t agree with him…” Haha! C’mon, it was KIND OF funny, right?

    I have to tell you that I enjoy your blog – it makes mine look pretty weak, though, haha! Would you be okay with me adding your link to my blog list? My readers (all 3 of them) would enjoy it every bit as much as I do!

    ~Don

    PS – I couldn’t tell you the last time I saw snow – it’s going to be 85 degrees today here in Tucson!

Leave a Reply

