Quickie Sausage Quiche

My favorite day of the week, Thursday grocery shopping day (NOT).  I will say, it wasn’t so bad today, I went a few hours earlier than normal and was well on my way out of the store and home by 1:30 p.m.  I’m usually not heading out the door at home until much later than that and usually end up at the grocery store when people are running errands after picking up the kids from school and people who are on their way home from work who are running in to pick up a few things.  Think I may start going a little earlier, I liked it.

Walt had a great day yesterday, not only did he come home to Blondies (I love baking the house smelled sweet for hours), we also had Sausage Quiche for dinner.  We love Quiche, I have a lot of variations that I make and each time Walt will announce that the one I’ve made is his favorite.  For me it is one of those dishes that can be put together quickly and no matter what you put in it you can’t go wrong.

I love cooking for Walt, because he will try anything that I make and when he doesn’t like something, it’s funny watching him tiptoe around how he is going to tell me it’s not a winner.  Sometimes he’ll say things like, “It was Ok, but if you didn’t make it again I wouldn’t miss it” or he might say “oh you’re other recipe for this is better.”  Some times he’ll just come right out and say “it’s ok to take it off the rotation.” 

Walt’s true bravery doesn’t come out until my parents come over or we go to their house for a visit (does he think they will protect him?), then he becomes animated and says what he really thinks.  Does he really think it’s a good idea to be honest in front of the in-laws?  Just kidding, it really is funny.  If you listen to him tell my parents about some disaster made in the kitchen, you would think that I tried to poison him or something.  He is a funny guy, he makes us all laugh.

My track record must be pretty good because Walt hardly every gives a thumbs down to anything.  The first time I made a Quiche for dinner he looked at me with the whole one eyebrow lifted, quizzical face, the are you serious look.  And if it wasn’t bad enough I made Quiche for dinner, I was serving it with a salad!  I knew what he was thinking……where are the mashed potatoes and gravy?  He had the whole….. have you lost your senses look and do you realize this is dinner not brunch or a baby shower?  But one Quiche, one salad, one dinner, one bite was all it took for him to become a fan of Quiche for dinner with a salad!  If I made a Quiche every week Walt wouldn’t complain.

Quiche is one of those dishes that you can either assemble ahead of time or at least prep ahead of time.  If you’re using sausage or bacon, brown it or cook it ahead of time or the night before.  Cut up and prep your veggies ahead of time.  Use a pre-made pie crust to cut down on time.  When you get home from a long day at work, throw it all together and pop it in the oven for 45 minutes, then go change into comfy clothes, read the mail, watch  the news or catch up on a few blogs.   Quiche makes a great with a Caesar salad and leftovers for lunch the next day reheat really well.

Today’s Quiche is the easiest one I make.  It has just a few ingredients, the most time-consuming is the browning of the sausage and that’s not even difficult.  And, as of last night, and until I make one of the others………this is Walt’s favorite Quiche.  Try it and enjoy!

 Nancy’s Sausage Quiche

Nancy's Sausage Quiche

INGREDIENTS

1/2 lb. Bulk                         Sausage

1 Medium                           Onion – chopped

1 Cup                                    Shredded Cheddar Cheese

1 Cup                                    Half and Half

4                                            Eggs

1                                            9″ Deep Dish Pie Crust (Pre-made is fine)

DIRECTIONS

Brown Sausage and onion – drain off fat

Place crust in Quiche dish or pie pan, making sure crust runs up side of dish

Place your crust into your quiche dish or deep pie dish

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Sprinkle sausage and onion mix onto the crust

Sprinkle with the cheddar cheese

Sausage - Onion - Cheddar Cheese

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Beat Eggs with Half and Half

Pour over the sausage/onion/cheddar cheese

Pour egg/half & half mixture over sausage/onion/cheese

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Bake at 425 degrees F for 15 minutes

Reduce temperatures to 350 degrees F and bake for additional 20 minutes (or until knife inserted in center comes out clean)

2 thoughts on “Quickie Sausage Quiche

  1. You don’t like grocery shopping? I love it! I usually go with my parents, but I just love how there are aisles and aisles of food, and you can choose whatever you want. It may sound ridiculous, but it’s exciting for me.

    The quiche looks amazing! I love the cheesy top.

    http://indiraadams.wordpress.com

    • Hi, thanks for stopping by our little family blog. LOL, no unfortunately I don’t like grocery shopping, but it has to be done in order to do things I do love, which is cooking and baking. I’m with you on the fish, I love fish and will eat it fresh or frozen and I could eat it every single day, the fries are hit or miss, I like them but I don’t need them every day. Nothing better than cheese with eggs and a little sausage! I always have cheese on my scrambled eggs too!! Take care!

Leave a Reply

