Wednesday Is For Catching Up, Cleaning Out And Organizing Too………..

Wednesday….the middle of the work week.  I guess there are those who may ask…should it really matter since I am currently not working?  Yes, it should matter, it means that not including today there are only two days before the weekend which for us are always filled with family and fun things to do, even if we all just stay indoors!  This week John is supposed to drive down for a visit so we can celebrate his birthday.  Hopefully, Josh and Kaylee will be over the flu and able to come over this weekend.

Wednesday is also the day I finish up my weekly menu plan, finalize my grocery list and go through the cupboards and refrigerator to see if there is anything in there that I need to use up or put on the grocery list to restock.  Sometimes, like today, it results in an afternoon of baking…..today it’s Blondies with my own little tweaking so that I can make use of the half a bag of chocolate chip morsels and the half a bag of butterscotch morsels that are taking up valuable real estate in the carousel cabinet.

Before we get into the Blondie recipe though, I want to catch up on a few blog blunders…….

CHICKEN POT PIE RECIPE:   I have mentioned before that I am working diligently trying to get the hang of the blogging process.  Sometimes when I put pictures in, the typing that I’ve done gets out of whack.  That’s what happened with the Chicken Pot Pie recipe.  A dear reader contacted me to let me know that I had listed milk as an ingredient but not how much.  I just want everyone to know that I did edit the entry and the recipe is now correct.  I apologize to anyone who may have tried it and had it turn out poorly.

BLUEBERRY MUFFINSNot to worry, according to my best friend Tina, who made a batch of muffins on Saturday, the muffins are delicious.  Tina did however have a problem getting the muffins out of the muffin tins because the butter/sugar mixture on top melts as it bakes and the muffins tend to stick to the pan.  Another one of those….what is it the kids say…..”OH MY BAD!”  I should have mentioned that anytime I make a muffin with a crumble top, as soon as I take them out of the oven, I very, very carefully run a butter knife around the edge of the muffin top so that when I take them out they don’t stick and come apart.  I’m sorry my bestie…..I am so glad you love me and forgive me for that over-site.

LASAGNA:   No problems with this one at all just wanted to share with everyone Nikki’s version.  Nikki made a big pan yesterday to surprise Eric and it turned out beautifully.  Because Nikki only gets one day a week off, she is alway pressed for time so instead of making my sauce she used jar spaghetti (64 oz. size) sauce and added the browned beef and other ingredients then proceeded to make her lasagna.  This is her first attempt at lasagna………….MOMMA IS SO PROUD!!!  You did a great job!  When I checked with Nikki today, she said everyone loved it.   When I checked with Eric he responded “PERFECT :)!”  That’s all that matters, the person who you made it for appreciates your efforts and thinks it’s perfect.

Looks Delicious!!!

So, I think that catches up my “OH-OH’s,” if I missed anything let me know.

Today I leave you with a great “Chewy Butterscotch Blondie Recipe” from Nestles.com.  Today I only made one tweak, which was using half chocolate and half butterscotch morsels because I wanted to use up what was open and on hand.  Generally I make these exactly as the recipe reads.  This Blondie recipe is the very first thing I made many years ago when I started surfing the internet and name brand sites for recipes.  They are delicious and a favorite!!

 http://www.verybestbaking.com/recipes/30256/Chewy-Butterscotch-Brownies/detail.aspx

Chocolate/Butterscotch Blondies

CHEWY BUTTERSCOTCH BLONDIE RECIPE

BLONDIE INGREDIENTS

INGREDIENTS 

  • 2 1/2 cups        all-purpose flour
  • 1 teaspoon       baking powder
  • 1/2 teaspoon   salt
  • 1 cup                  (2 sticks) butter or margarine, softened
  • 1 3/4 cups         packed brown sugar
  • 1 tablespoon    vanilla extract
  • 2 large               eggs
  • 1 2/3 cups        (11-oz. pkg.) NESTLÉ® TOLL HOUSE® Butterscotch Flavored Morsels, divided (I used half chocolate and half butterscotch)
  • 1 cup                  chopped nuts

DIRECTIONS

PREHEAT oven to 350° F.
COMBINE flour, baking powder and salt in a medium bowl. Beat butter, sugar and vanilla extract in a large mixing bowl until creamy. Beat in eggs. Gradually beat in flour mixture. Stir in 1 cup morsels and nuts. Spread into ungreased 13×9-inch baking pan. Sprinkle with remaining morsels.
BAKE for 30 to 40 minutes or until wooden pick inserted in center comes out clean. Cool in pan on wire rack.

HOT OUT OF THE OVEN!!!

6 thoughts on “Wednesday Is For Catching Up, Cleaning Out And Organizing Too………..

  1. It is my catching up day too…finally printing out all your recipes and copying them on recipe cards to go in my recipe box! I’m reading them to Rhiana at the kitchen table as she sits next to me doing her homework and I hear “oohs and ahhs” so I’ll definitely make an effort to make at least one this week!! 🙂

    • Ah, a girl after my own heart…..recipe cards. I just picked up a pack from the dollar store, really cute ones so that I can transfer some recipes over. Something about holding the card makes it feel more personal, plus the fact that I have had recipes disapear from some of the name brand sites, they decide to eliminate the recipe and it disappears from my recipe box. Your girls are so precious…..maybe they can help you with some of the recipes you try. Let me know what you make and how it turns out. Call me or FB private message me if something in recipe doesn’t make sense. Love to all xoxo

    • Hi, thanks for stopping by our blog and commenting, we love visitors. Awe, go ahead mama, let them have one for breakfast on Valentines Day, what a treat!! I had one with my morning coffee and blog reading, it was yummy!!

Leave a Reply

