Manic Monday……

Hello family and friends, getting a late start on the blogging today.  Monday’s are always kind of busy for me, mostly because it’s my house cleaning day.  I know, most people do their deep clean on Friday or Saturday but I do mine on Monday morning, after the weekend, after all my little visitors are off to their own houses for the week.  Monday through Friday I have no Playmobil action figures or board games lying around, the Bugles and Cheetos area vacuumed and swept up, everything is put away.  Dusting gets done too.

It was a pretty easy clean this week, I didn’t have any of my little grandbabies with me this weekend.  Kaylee was sick, Josh was at boy scout camp and Walt and I drove downriver to spend Saturday with Nikki and Lil E for Nikki’s birthday.  We had a nice, but quiet weekend.

Lots of running to do this afternoon, even got a phone call about a potential job.  Unfortunately the lady called me while I was in a meeting and I had to tell her that I would call her back tomorrow.  The up side of that is it gave me the opportunity to look up  her organization and do some research.  Not excited that it’s in the city but I am definitely intrigued by what her organization does.  I can absolutely see me in that role.

My family is going to read this and wonder what it is.  Sorry guys, not ready to talk about it, need to get more information.  It’s funny how life throws you a few curve balls, all I will say is that if offered, I will accept and interview to learn more and if offered the position I would have to do some soul-searching, this position would give me the opportunity to use my years of experience to help people rebuild their lives.  All I will say is “God works in mysterious ways.”

But we are ahead of our selves, I haven’t even gotten an interview.  I just know that the lady on the phone was excited about the fact I was not back to work yet and that she feels my background is exactly what she is looking for.  LOL, she has no idea how much it really does in more ways than one.

But…let’s move on to today’s recipe!!  Today I made a new Swiss Steak recipe, I found it on Pillsbury.com.  It always amazes me that I find some really great recipes on that site that have nothing to do with biscuits, or rolls, or pizza crust!   AND…..I did not change a thing!!  At least not the first time, I have some ideas for next time!!!

Oven BBQ Swiss Steak (Pillsbury.com)

 

OVEN BBQ SWISS STEAK

INGREDIENTS

1  (14.5-oz.)           can diced tomatoes, undrained
1  (12-oz.)               jar beef gravy
1/2 cup                   barbecue sauce
1 cup                       Green Giant® Niblets® Frozen Corn
1 medium              onion, cut into thin wedges
1 1/2 lb.                  boneless beef round steak, cut into serving-sized pieces
2 tbsp                     chopped fresh parsley
6 cups                    hot mashed potatoes
DIRECTIONS
  • Heat oven to 325°F.
  • In ungreased 13×9-inch (3-quart) glass baking dish, combine tomatoes, gravy and barbecue sauce; blend well.
  • Add corn and onion; mix well.
  • Place beef pieces in mixture; spoon mixture over beef.
  • Cover with foil.
  • Bake covered at 325°F. for 1 hour 30 minutes or until beef is fork-tender.
  • Sprinkle with parsley.
  • To serve, spoon mashed potatoes into individual shallow bowls.
  • Top each with beef and vegetable mixture.

http://www.pillsbury.com/recipes/oven-barbecue-swiss-steak/41baf720-a439-415d-a7a6-3c9af0f504b2/

2 thoughts on “Manic Monday……

    • Hi, you’re welcome. I have found several on the Pillsbury site that we like, it is where I found the Spinach Ravioli Alfredo that I posted a while back which is now a family favorite! And you are right, it is simple and it was very tasty, in fact my husband took leftovers to work for lunch today, I received a text a few hours ago that simply read “Yummy, lunch was good.” It’s a keeper!!

Leave a Reply

