ARE YOU READY FOR SOME……………………….

LASAGNA!! I bet you thought I was going to say football didn’t you?  Superbowl Sunday…..everyone has been talking about it for weeks.  Out of a household of two, only one of us is the football fan, well let me rephrase that, only one of us is the major league football fan and that would be Walt.  Even my mom gets into Superbowl fever mode and at the ripe ole age of 7, Joshua has been drawn in as well.

It’s not that I don’t like football, I do.  I love college football.   I attended Central Michigan University, GO CHIPPEWAS, and love the University of Michigan….”GO BLUE!!”  Sorry State fans, I love your campus, it is a beautiful place, but I am not a Spartie fan.  And, so long as they are not playing Michigan, I always root for Notre Dame, “Go Irish”, come on how could you not root for them, they have “Touch Down Jesus” on their side.   Oh…..and I will always root for any school who is playing against Ohio State ……. sorry Buckeye fans, no offense intended.

Superbowl Sunday watching in our house goes something like this.  I make sure there are snacks in the house for Walt to munch on throughout the day.  I either prepare a big pot of pasta or, like today, I make a big pan of lasagna, something that we can eat whenever anyone is hungry and can feed more than two if anyone drops by.  I make a huge salad and everyone is happy.

At game time Walt will settle into his favorite chair and watch the game, I will either go online, work on a craft project or read a good book (sometimes maybe a not so good one).  Depending on what I’m doing I will either in the same room as Walt or one close by.  When the commercials come on Walt will let me know so that I can come in the livingroom and watch them with him.  I have to watch the commercials, I can’t be the only one on Monday who doesn’t know what all the chatter and laughter is about.  My favorite from last year was the Chrysler commercial with Eminem, loved it.

Halftime is hit or miss.  I am usually disappointed especially so this year.  Madonna?  Really?  You guessed it, this is one halftime I will be happy to miss.  I think the kids from Glee are more capable of putting on an entertaining halftime show for the masses than Madonna is and I have only watched Glee once!  With a little help from Superbowl organizers wouldn’t it be great to see one or a couple of really good unknown bands perform?  Kids who are trying to make it in the music industry and haven’t had the opportunity for a break?  Now that I would watch in a heartbeat!!  The exposure for these kids would be incredible!!

Walt is rooting for the Giants.  If I were rooting for someone it would be New England, hang on to your hat, simply because of the name……New England.  I could not tell you a name of any one player on that team.  I like it simply because years ago I spent 5 days traveling up and down the New England shoreline from up-state New York all the way up to Bangor, Maine meeting friendly and welcoming people while seeing some of the most beautiful scenery that I will never forget.

With that said, if I were a Superbowl fan, it would be an interesting night at our house………….Hope your team wins!!!

Here is today’s recipes.  Although I have previously posted my sauce recipe after the Lasagna recipe in case anyone missed it.  Just an FYI, I make just a little bit more sauce when I make lasagna so that we can have some sauce on the side if anyone wants it so this sauce recipe is a bit modified from the previous post.

WALT'S FAVORITE LASAGNA

Walt’s Favorite Lasagna

Ingredients

9               Lasagna noodles – cooked and drained

15 oz.       Ricotta cheese

4 Cups     Mozzarella Cheese

1/2 Cup    Parmesan Cheese (plus extra to sprinkle on each layer of lasagna as you assemble it)

2                 Eggs – slightly beaten

58 oz.       Pasta w/meat sauce (Recipe follows)

 

 

Directions

Preheat oven to 350 degrees F

In a medium sized bowl, mix the ricotta cheese, 1 cup of the mozzarella cheese, 1/2 cup of parmesan cheese and the lightly beaten eggs.

 

Spread sauce on the bottom of a 13×9 inch baking dish (about a cup, maybe a little more)

Spread sauce on bottom of 13x9" baking dish

 

  • Place 1/3 (3) noodles over the sauce in the baking dish

Spread half of the ricotta cheese mixture over the noodles

Add some sauce to cover ricotta mixture

Spread half of the ricotta cheese mixture on the first layer of noodles

Spread 1 cup of mozzarella cheese over sauce

Sprinkle with parmesean cheese

 

Spread 1 cup mozzarella and sprinkle parmesean over ricotta

 

  • Repeat layering; 3 noodles – rest of ricotta mixture, more meat sauce, 1 cup mozzarella cheese and sprinkle with parmesean

Add remaining 3 noodles and cover with sauce only

Add the last three noodles and spread sauce over top. Do not add cheese yet to this layer.

  • Cover with foil and bake for 55 minutes

Uncover – add remaining 1 cup of mozzarella and sprinkle with more parmesean

Return to oven uncovered for and additional 5 minutes or until cheese is melted and bubbly

Bake uncovered an additional 5 minutes or until cheese is hot and bubbly - Let sit 15 minutes before cutting

 

 

Nancy’s Pasta Sauce

Note:  I make this ahead of time or earlier in the day.  If you make it earlier in the day, let it cool off enough so that it doesn’t melt the cheeses as spoon as you put it over the cheese.

INGREDIENTS

1.5 lbs.                          Ground Round

2 Cans (29 oz ea)       Tomato Sauce (I use Hunts)

1 Can (12 oz.)              Tomato Paste (I use Hunts)

6 Tbsp.                         Brown sugar

1 tsp.                             Oregano

1 cup                            Chopped onion

3 gloves                       Garlic – minced

DIRECTIONS

  • Brown ground beef and drain
  • Return beef to pot and add tomato sauce and paste – mix well
  • Bring to boil, reduce heat and let simmer 1 – 2 hours.
  • Add brown sugar, oregano, chopped onion and garlic (you can saute the garlic and onion if you like, I don’t, I think it adds more flavor to the sauce by not sautéing)
2 thoughts on “ARE YOU READY FOR SOME……………………….

  1. I can’t wait to try this one! Yes, I’ve been lazy with the cooking. Well, not really lazy, but it’s so easy to throw some rice in a rice cooker and make some chicken to go along with it!! I’m sure the girls are getting tired of that! We did switch it up last night and had Orange Chicken from Costco…with rice..LOL! Hey at least I’m not ordering pizza and running out for fast food every night! So, I have to say the last time I tried to make lasagna Rhiana was around 2!! I used a recipe and was so proud of myself only to have it come out FLAT! What? Crazy! WELL…little did I know you had to BOIL the noodles prior to baking it!!!! OMG…Rob gave me such crap for the longest time that I never wanted to try to cook anything for years after that! Now, I’m dabbling in things here and there when I get great recipes like yours to go off of! I’m still not the type that can just throw spices in a pot and make something of it, but hey I’m no chef and never claim to be! Thanks Aunt Nancy for all your ideas and I’ll get a couple of these going this week! 🙂 xo

    • Hi Sweetie, I am glad you are finding the recipes interesting. I love cooking and I too am so leary of new things but I find that once I start it becomes a challenge to see if I can do it. They do make a lasagna noodle that you don’t have to boil first but I am not a fan, I need to know the noodle is floppy and done before I add it to my lasagna LOL. The think about lasagna is that it is messy by nature so go ahead and “throw” one together I bet it will be delicious!! OOOO, I love white rice, I could eat it 7 days a week, before Walt and I got married and he moved in with me, I would come home and make white rice for dinner and nothing else!!! You guys are going through an adjustment right now, a long distance family, I can completely understand the need to make things easy and quick at meal time. Hang in there sweetie, you’re doing great!! 🙂

Leave a Reply

