The Cookbook……Handing Down Family Favorites

What a busy day today, I wasn’t even sure if I was going to find time to catch up on reading my favorite blogs let alone  jot down some thoughts on my own blog.  The day was so thrown off  even grocery shopping didn’t get done!!  Unfortunately due to a reaction to some medication I started today, I am now, at the end of the day, stuck staying close to home……very close to home.  Oh well, what’s a grandma to do when she can’t venture to far…………BAKE COOKIES of course and catch up on my blog!!

One of the great things about joining the amazing world of blogging is the endless connection to new recipes and ideas.  I absolutely love it.  I am a member of all the name brand sites like Hunts, Pillsbury, Hershey, Kraft, Land O Lakes, McCormick’s, etc….I wait for the beginning of the week so that I can go in to each site and see what new recipes and ideas they have posted.

Now I’ve add blogging to the mix and things on here change by the minute, actually seconds!!  The possibilities of finding great recipes on here are ENDLESS and unlike the name brand sites, the recipes on here have cute stories to share about why the recipe is posted.  Not that I plan on it, but I will venture to say that if I put my mind to it….I could cook for 365 days and never repeat the same recipe.

This past Christmas when I was gathering all my recipes for our favorite holiday cookies, I discovered that I had some how misplaced my recipe for chocolate chip cookies.  As hard as I tried, I could not remember the amount of flour that I used, it was cause for a major meltdown.  I know, you’re thinking “just look at another recipe.”  Not so easy, in my recipe I had the addition of extra flour so that the cookies were softer and rounder, we don’t like a flat, crunchy cookie.  Frustrated, every cookbook rummaged through, every desk drawer dumped out, I thought all hope was lost until my darling daughter Nikki mentioned that she had the recipe in the cookbook I made for her and John when they turned 18.

“The Cookbook,” how could I forget.  When Nikki and John turned 18, beginning to venture out on their own, I created a personalized cookbook for each of them with all of their favorite recipes typed on paper that had  a cute cooking/baking border, each recipe was slipped in a sheet protector, placed in a binder along with a personal note  inside.  I wanted to make sure that as their lives took them on their own adventures apart from me, a part of their childhood could go along for the ride.  I had always hoped they would keep the books but truly did think that somewhere along the way the book(s) would be forgotten or lost.

I knew Nikki had her book, I saw it appear on the counter shortly after lil E was born.  As with most young couples who are starting out and working long hours, one coming and one going, hardly ever in the same place at the same time, they had a tendency to eat out or bring home take out.  It was faster, easier, and for them, no wasted left overs.  That arrangement worked out well before lil E and even after lil E was born until he started on solid foods.

Once Lil E had mastered solid food, Nikki began making home cooked, nutritious, well-balanced meals.  I started sharing recipes and ideas and as I searched the web sites for recipes for myself, I forwarded things I thought she would like to make.  Nikki is not afraid to try new things and what I love about her is that she is not afraid to improvise either.  She is quite the little cook!

While at her home taking care of lil E one night while Nikki and Eric worked, Nikki told me to go through her book to find the recipe.  I had to smile when I opened the book, I not only found the book intact, but all the recipes I had sent to her were inside as well as recipes she collected from friends, Eric’s family and from her own recipe searches.  All I could think was “How great, that she is creating a keepsake of her own family favorites!”

I also discovered that John still has his book.  About a year and a half ago, John found himself on his own for the very first time, responsible for his own meal planning and shopping on a limited budget.  I was shocked when I was with him and he pulled out the binder, all his recipes intact.  He has made a few things from his cook book and is becoming well acquainted with the slow cooker, something his mom cannot seem to get into.    John loves throwing something in the slow cooker before he goes to work and coming home to dinner already made with leftovers guaranteed.  He is also not afraid to experiment, John has discovered that a can of ChunkySoup served over rice, potatoes or corn bread can make a hearty meal and it doesn’t dent his budget.

Although the internet is nice for finding and filing recipes, but there is still something about a written or typed recipe in a book or on a card, it makes it more personal somehow.  For me it brings a sense of familiarity, kind of like comfort food.

I haven’t seen recipe cards in ages, you know the blank ones, the ones you have to actually write the recipe on.  Recently found some at our local Dollar Tree and was pleasantly surprised.  Pick up a pack, find some of your long, lost family favorites, write them down and send them to family and friends.  Make it personal and from the heart, after all isn’t that where all good recipes come from?

Today I am going to share a new chocolate cookie recipe with you.  I tried this recipe tonight, I found it on the “Sister Wisdom”  blog/website and….after licking the cookie batter our of “The Bowl,” which I generally NEVER do then eating several warm cookies right out of the oven, I have made up my mind that this is now going to become my regular chocolate chip cookie, it’s that good.

Chocolate Chip Cheesecake Cookies

Chocolate Chip Cheesecake Cookies

Ingredients:
  • 2 cups all-purpose flour
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt
  • 1/2 teaspoon baking powder
  • 1/8 teaspoon baking soda
  • 10 tablespoons butter (1 stick plus 2 tablespoons)
  • 1 cup sugar
  • 1 egg
  • 3 ounces cream cheese
  • 1 teaspoon vanilla
  • 12 ounces chocolate chips

Preheat oven to 375 degrees F

  • Combine dry ingredients (flour through soda) in a bowl and set aside.
  • In mixer, blend butter, sugar, egg, cream cheese, and vanilla.
  • Slowly add the dry ingredients, mixing with each addition, until all are incorporated.
  • Stir in the chocolate chips.
  • Grease a cookie sheet.
  • Drop dough by the spoonful onto sheet, at least 1 inch apart.
  • Bake 10 to 12 minutes or until golden brown around edges.

Note: Dough can be refrigerated until firm, then rolled into a log and frozen (in air-tight freezer bag) for up to 1 month. When ready to bake, let thaw 30 minutes to 1 hour (until soft enough to slice); slice in 3/4″ wide disks and bake.

4 thoughts on “The Cookbook……Handing Down Family Favorites

  1. Hi granny1947, I have been enjoying your stories and your photo’s. How are you feeling? Have you finally shaken that flu bug? I haven’t been on today to catch up on my reading so I don’t know if you posted your progress to feeling better.

    I love the idea of the cookbook, in fact, I am working on putting together a new one for each of my children. We’ve discovered new recipes in the last 12 years, it’s time for Volume II.

    Take care………..

  2. I enjoyed reading your stories and loved the pictures of family fun times in Rezich kitchen. I would like to make the chicken pot pie, but noticed you didn’t include how much broth to stir in with the milk.. I love comfort food in the winter time!
    Joy

    • Hi Joy, thanks for stopping by and the compliments. Also a big thank you for catching the error in the Pot Pie recipe. It’s 1/2 cup milk and a 14 oz. can of chicken broth. I edited that post and in my next blog I will have to make sure I note it before someone tries to make it and it turns out horrible!! I am new this blogging thing and do well with the text until I start to add photo’s, the photo’s seem to mess up what I’ve typed and it cuts into the recipe sometimes setting it out of whack. Oh well persistence pays off, I will get this thing down soon!

Leave a Reply

