Welcome February!!!

Happy February 1st everyone!!!  We are now one month closer to Spring!!!!  February is a great month, it’s the month my children were born AND….it’s one month closer to warmer weather.  I know, February here can be brutal, it’s the month that we get hit with snow and ice storms, but once we get through February and March it’s all down hill to warmer temperatures and early spring flowers.

Plus I am having a great day today.  Things went well at my doctor appointment, I lost ten pounds (in 3 months without dieting, just watching!) my vitamin D levels are only two points shy of normal after being frighteningly low (single digits….not good).  Sears took back the dress pants I bought for Walt in early November which he never wore and still had the tags on them and the receipt tucked inside.  I picked up my precious watch from the jeweler, Walt bought it for me a few years ago, the clasp was broken and it took 4 weeks to fix it, but  he watch is now back on my wrist and when I grab my wrist to adjust it, it’s really there.  The sun is shinning, the temperatures are pleasant, what more could you ask for on February 1st.!!!

Today I have a decatent, white cheese sauce for Gnocci that is made with Fontina cheese, unsalted butter, parmesean, shallots, basil, and heavy cream.   You’re going to love it.  Below is the exact recipe as it appears on allrecipes.com.

I made some variations (you know I did) as follows:

  • I used chopped green onions in place of the shallots and we loved it.
  • I used a 1/2 tsp. of dried basil instead of fresh and added it to the butter and green onions before adding the cream and cheese.

Avere un buon pasto!!!  Have a good meal!!!

GNOCCHI IN FONTINA SAUCE  (allrecipes.com)

Ingredients

1 lb.            Fresh, Refrigerated or Frozen Gnocchi

6 tbls         Unsalted butter

2 tbls          Chopped shallots

8 oz.            Italian Fontina cheese, cubed

1/3 cup       Heavy cream

3 tbls           Freshly grated Parmesan chees

1 tbls            Chopped fresh basil

 

Directions

Gnocchi

  • Bring a large pot of lightly salted water to a boil.
  • Add the gnocchi, and cook until tender, about 5 minutes.
  • Drain, and set aside.
  • Once the gnocchi goes into the pot, start the sauce, as you want the gnocchi to be done first.

Sauce

  • Melt the butter in a saucepan over medium heat.
  • Add the shallots, and cook for a few minutes, until tender (I used green onions and 1/2 tsp. dried basil) 
  • Stir in the cream, and heat to almost a boil
  • Gradually mix in the fontina and parmesan cheeses, being careful not to boil.
  • Stir until smooth, then remove from the heat immediately, or the sauce may clump.
  • Place gnocchi into serving dishes, and spoon the sauce over them.
  • Garnish with chopped fresh basil (I omitted this step)              

 

 

 

 

 

2 thoughts on “Welcome February!!!

    • LOL, you’re right, but I did make sure I had more salad than pasta! MY problem will be if my version of your coffee cake comes out half as appealing as your photo!! I can’t wait to try it!

Leave a Reply

