Blueberry Muffins……Just Because I Love You

It’s a cold, snowy Saturday morning here, the house is quiet as I sit in the kitchen with a hot cup of coffee looking out the windows watching the snow fall.  “Snow fall” is a broad term for what it is doing, it looks like snow as it falls however once it hits the ground it melts and becomes a wet mess on the ground.  The comfort and pleasure I feels comes from the fact that I can sit and watch it out the window knowing that I don’t have to go out into it at any time today.

Josh arrived last night for the weekend and is downstairs with Papa Walt, they are playing football on the PS3.  The only break in my silent little world this morning is when Josh rushed up the stairs to tell me that he has been drafted by the Detroit Lions…..more great news received as I sit in the kitchen working on today’s blog, watching the snow and enjoying my coffee!

Breakfast here on Saturday mornings can be a toss-up.  If the any of the grandbabies are here on Saturday morning we make a big breakfast, sausage, bacon, eggs, waffles, pancakes, whatever our little darlings have a taste for.  If it’s just Walt and I, we’re pretty happy with a cup of coffee and any kind of baked good, muffins, coffee breads or coffee cakes along with some type of fresh fruit.

When you’re the “head chef” of the household, which for our household it is me, everyone pretty much is at your mercy.  Since you control the menu and meal planning everyone has to eat, or at least is expected to eat, what you prepare unless of course, they are willing to do the shopping, cooking and baking on their own.  It’s a pretty powerful position to have if you think about it, after all if you have a taste for something you don’t think twice about making it, however if anyone else in the household likes something or has a craving for something they have to ask and hope that you’ll make it.

You, as the “head chef,” have a tough job.  Depending on the size of your household, you have to try to plan meals and snacks around varying taste buds while trying to stay on course with your meal plan and within your budget.  Not always easy to do especially with large families.  Plus, if someone in the family likes something that you are not particularly fond of eating or making, it could be pretty hard to work those recipes into your planning and easily forgotten or put aside.

That is how I feel about Blueberries……. I don’t like the taste or the texture, I don’t like them in cereal or oatmeal.  I don’t like them in muffins, pancakes or coffee cakes.  I don’t like blueberry syrup or jam or blueberries in a blueberry pie.  I just don’t like blueberries, as a result, they are not a regular staple in my planning or purchasing.

Walt however loves blueberries.  So every couple of weeks when I am grocery shopping I buy him a little pack of blueberries.  When Walt sees them he is always surprised and will always say “Oh you bought me blueberries, thank you sweetie, you didn’t have to do that.”  But I do have to buy them, because he loves them.  Walt is happy eating them out of a bowl or with his cereal and oatmeal.

Over the years, a few times a year, I will attempt to make blueberry muffins for Walt.  I say attempt, because my journey looking for the perfect blueberry muffin recipe has not been successful, at least not until yesterday when I found “To Die For Blueberry Muffins” on the allrecipe.com website.  I knew I was onto something that was going to be good, or at least decent, when the house smelled wonderful as they baked and the little crumb (without a blueberry in it) melted in my mouth when I tasted it.

Walt’s reaction to the muffins was a positive one.  He thought they looked great and when he bit into one the expression on his face and the “mmmmm” he lt out was a sign that these may finally be “the ones.”  Walt says they are moist and delicious, the cinnamon and sugar make the blueberries taste sweet.  And although they are not exactly “To Die For,” (in his opinion this means you have tried every blueberry muffin ever created and this one is it), they are by far the best blueberry muffin I have made and they are equal to, or better than, the blueberry muffins that can be purchased at our local store or chain donut shop.

As Walt sat at the table across from me this morning, enjoying a second cup of coffee and another muffin, he looked at me and said, “I love blueberries but you know you really didn’t have to make these just for me,”  I looked at him and chuckled just a little, “yes I did” I said, “I made blueberry muffins just because I love you.”

To Die For Blueberry Muffins (Copied directly from Allrecipes.com)

My Results!

 Ingredients

  •                     1 1/2 cups all-purpose flour
  •                     3/4 cup white sugar
  •                     1/2 teaspoon salt
  •                     2 teaspoons baking powder
  •                     1/3 cup vegetable oil
  •                     1 egg
  •                     1/3 cup milk
  •                     1 cup fresh blueberries
  •                     1/2 cup white sugar
  •                     1/3 cup all-purpose flour
  •                     1/4 cup butter, cubed
  •                     1 1/2 teaspoons ground cinnamon

Directions

  1. Preheat oven to 400 degrees F (200 degrees C). Grease muffin cups or line with muffin  liners.               
  2. Combine 1 1/2 cups flour, 3/4 cup sugar, salt and baking powder. Place vegetable oil into a 1 cup measuring cup; add the egg and enough milk to fill the cup. Mix this with flour mixture. Fold in blueberries. Fill muffin cups right to the top, and sprinkle with crumb topping mixture.               
  3. To Make Crumb Topping: Mix together 1/2 cup sugar, 1/3 cup flour, 1/4 cup butter,  and 1 1/2 teaspoons cinnamon. Mix with fork, and sprinkle over muffins before baking.               
  4. Bake for 20 to 25 minutes in the preheated oven, or until done.               
4 thoughts on “Blueberry Muffins……Just Because I Love You

Leave a Reply

