Comforting Pork Cutlets

“Pork, the other white meat,” we hear it on commercials, see it in magazines and on posters in our grocery stores.  We can buy ribs, roasts, chops, bacon, sausage, cutlets even little piggy feet!  There are so many ways to prepare pork, you can roast it, bake it, fry it, simmered it, or crock it (crock pot that is), and you will, more than likely always, get incredible delicious meals.

Let me explain the “always” in my last statement.  This is how I like my meat cooked…..I want my pork and chicken dead.  My beef can still move a little, depending on the steak I am eating, it is always pink, sometimes a little light red.  I agree with the experts that chicken and pork must be cooked thoroughly and in an attempt to do that, it is sometimes not hard to over cook pork and chicken which then results in the meat being a little dry.

If you have never gotten sick from chicken that hasn’t been cooked properly you’re lucky.  About 15 years ago a group of co-workers took me to lunch for my birthday.  We went to a very well-known, nationally recognized, restaurant chain, where I ordered a chicken sandwich but unfortunately it wasn’t until I had eaten about half of the sandwich that I noticed it was not cooked through.  I won’t go into details other than to say that the next few days were not pleasant.  This was all it took to really make me more aware of how I handle and cook chicken and pork in my own kitchen.  To this day, I am leery about ordering chicken in restaurants.

Ok, back on the pork track……..My favorite dish, the one I will take over any other pork dish, is my mom’s breaded pork cutlet.  It always amazes me how this delicate, inexpensive piece of pork  which can be prepared quickly and easily, is so delicious and tasty!  Yesterday I had four pretty good-sized pieces (our market packages them two per pack) for under $5.00.  The cutlets, along with cheesy mashed potatoes and gravy, make an inexpensive family meal.   I will take these cutlets over pork chops any day of the week.

The next time you’re looking for a quick, hearty fix, give these a try, I think you’ll find a new favorite dish!!

MOM’S BREADED PORK CUTLET

Ingredients

  • 4 pcs.                    Cubed Pork Cutlets
  • 1-1.5 Cups            Italian Bread Crumbs
  • 2                              Eggs (beaten with 2 tbsp. of water)
  • 4 tbsp.                  Butter

Directions

  • Dip cutlets in egg mixture then in bread crumbs (*after I do this I put them back in the refrigerator for about an hour)
  • Melt butter in large frying pan
  • When butter is melted and bubbly reduce heat and place cutlets in pan
  • Fry 10-15 minutes on each side
  • Remove from pan
  • Serve with mashed potatoes, gravy and your favorite vegetable!!
4 thoughts on “Comforting Pork Cutlets

    • Hi, thanks for stopping by. The chicken has made me so cautious when we go out….I check it really well no matter where we go just to make sure it’s done. The pork cutlets are delicious and so easy to make, if you try them I’m sure you’ll like them as well.

Leave a Reply

