BAKING ON QUIET SUNDAY AFTERNOON

Yesterday was an unusual Sunday, simply because by 3:00 p.m. the house was quiet.

Kaylee had gone back home on Saturday afternoon.  After eating the pizza he and Joshua made, Lil E headed back home with his momma Saturday night.  Joshua spent Saturday night with us but left around 3:00 p.m. Sunday when his mom came to get him, they went to see the ice sculptures in a nearby town.

With the house so quiet, nothing good on TV, Papa Walt worked his way downstairs to listen to his music and play a few games on the PS3.  It’s actually like a little apartment down there, so as far as “Man Caves” go, Papa has a really nice one.  We have a nice living room area and a kitchen/dining area with lots of room to spread out and relax.  Most of the kid’s toys are down there, so they usually want to hang out down there with Papa.

I knew it was a really slow Sunday when I couldn’t find anything to watch on the Hallmark Channel or Lifetime Movie Network.  I mean, come on, there wasn’t even a rerun of a rerun that sounded good.  I was restless so I took the lap top into the kitchen and started catching up on e-mail and blogs that I follow.

That’s when I noticed them…..the close to… almost too ripe bananas on the counter. Each time I finished reading an e-mail or posting a response, my eyes would travel back to those bananas on the counter.  It was almost like that “Chucky” movie, each time I looked at the bananas they appeared to have moved forward, closer to the edge of the counter, taunting me…..”Don’t waste us…..bake, bake, bake.”

What to do, what to do, what to do………..it was 3:30 p.m. in the afternoon, did I really want to start baking at 3:30 p.m., I would have to get dinner started soon. Well the bananas won of course.  I was bored with nothing to do so I decided that “The Bowl” and I would whip up a quick banana nut bread to go with our coffee Monday morning.

While the bread was baking and I was cleaning up, getting things ready to start dinner, I thought “I bet my parents would enjoy a few slices of homemade banana nut bread” so I decided that Monday (today) I would take some over to them since they only live a few miles away.

As moved through the kitchen multi-tasking, out of no where, a question popped into my head.  When you take baked goods to someone the day after you make them, why aren’t they considered leftovers?  Seriously…..if I was to take over some the kielbasa and sauerkraut that I made yesterday the kielbasa and kraut would be referred to as “left overs.”   Why aren’t the bake goods??  (I told you it was a quiet day, plenty of time for the ole mind to wander).

Think about it, if you had already eaten dinner and dessert and guests arrived unexpectedly would you say “Hey…..how about a cup of coffee and some left over apple pie?”  NO!  More than likely you would say “Hey…..how about a cup of coffee and a slice of apple pie?” Or, “Hey, I made an apple pie, how about a slice and a cup of coffee?”  I have never said, nor has anyone ever said to me (that I can recall anyway)…”Hey, I have pie leftovers, wants some?”

So today…..bake something sweet, share it with a friend and over a cup of coffee ponder this question with me!!  “When do bake goods become leftovers???”

PECAN BANANA NUT BREAD

Ingredients

1/2 cup             Butter (room temperature)

1 cup                 White sugar

2                         Eggs

1 tsp                  Vanilla extract

1 1/2 cups       All-purpose flour

1 tsp                  Baking soda

1/2 tsp             Salt

1/2 cup           Sour cream

1/2 cup           Chopped Pecans

2                       Medium bananas, mashed

Directions

  • Preheat oven to 350 degrees F
  • Grease a 9×5 inch loaf pan.               
  •  In a large bowl, mix together the butter and sugar.
  • Add the eggs and vanilla, mix well.
  • Combine the flour, baking soda and salt, add into the butter mixture and stir until smooth.
  • Fold in the sour cream, pecans and bananas.
  • Spread evenly into the prepared pan.               
  • Bake at 350 degrees F  for 60 minutes, or until a toothpick inserted into the center of the loaf comes out clean.
  • Cool loaf in the pan for 10 minutes
  • Remove to a wire rack – cool completely.               
Leave a Reply

