In Another Dimension I Am Italian!

For  those of you who are following my blog, you already know that I am Polish, I love my heritage, I love the food, the culture, the language that I grew up hearing my grandparents and parents speak when they didn’t want us to know what they were saying and now wished I had learned.  I am proud of my ancestry.

What very few people know is that I am a closet Italian.  If I were not Polish and I could pick a back up nationality, it would definitely be Italian.  I love the food, the wine, the desserts!  I love the big families and the family loyalty.

My favorite movie is “Under the Tuscan Sun”…..simply for the food, the wine, the beautiful landscape.  I have watched this movie a hundred times and every time I cannot wait for Francis to get on that tour in Italy!!  I have several favorite scenes, I love the dinner party when the married guy is flirting, I really don’t care what he is saying to her I want to know what that white cream sauce is on the Ravioli he is eating!!

I love when Signor Martini gives Frances the statue, San Lorenzo, Patron Saint of Cooks. and I want the dinner scenes with the Polish guys who are working on her house to be longer.  I take in everything I cand see on the table and I want to know what the grandma is crumbling into the pot on the stove….is it garlic?   It looks like bread crumbs?  What is she crumbling it into?  Yes, I have paused the movie to try and figure this out!!

In the movie “Eat Pray Love” once Liz leaves Italy, I’m bored.  I love that Liz eats her way through Italy, that she travels to Naples just to eat pizza, pizza that looks nothing like the pizza that I can order from Little Caesars down the street!  One of my favorite scenes is the outdoor cafe where she orders for everyone at the table.  Each time I am disappointed that there aren’t more camera shots of the food!!  Once she leaves Italy, it’s time to change the channel.

I hate to admit it here but the “Real Housewives of New Jersey” is my favorite group of the RHO series.  Watching last year’s Christmas dinner at Caroline and Albert’s house I wanted to know what was on the menu!

I am constantly on a mission to find new sauces, new recipes, new dishes.  I have not yet, but will try my hand at Panzanella, it sounds so yummy!!  I cook at least one Italian dish a week, spaghetti, lasagna, ravioli, gnocci……..red sauce, butter garlic sauce, white sauce.  Yummy, Yummy, Yummy!!!

In another dimension, another time, another place……………. I am Italian!!

After that little intro, you’ve probably already guessed that tonight is Italian night at our house, we are having spaghetti with meat sauce, a nice salad and garlic bread.  The house smells incredible, garlic, onions……mmmm yum!

My sauce simmers for a couple of hours, melding the garlic, onions, oregano, brown sugar, ground beef and tomato sauce into a fantastic tasting pasta sauce.  Whether it’s over spaghetti noodles or mostaccioli noodles, or baked in my lasagna, this sauce is always one of our favorites!

Enjoy!!

NANCY’S SPAGHETTI SAUCE

Ingredients

1 lb.                                    Ground Beef (Chuck or Ground Round)

1 – 29 oz. Can                  Hunts Tomato Sauce*

1 – 15 oz. Can                   Hunts Tomato Sauce*

1 – 6 oz. Can                     Hunts Tomato Paste*

3/4 tsp.                             Dried Oregano

1/4 tsp.                              Basil

1 – Small                            Onion – chopped

2-3 cloves                         Garlic (Smash gloves with side of knife then chop)

4 tbsp.                               Brown Sugar

Directions

  • Brown meat – drain off fat
  • Return meat to pot add Oregano, Basil, Onion and Garlic – Mix well
  • Add tomato sauce and paste to meat mixture – mix well
  • Add brown sugar, mix
  • Cover bring to a boil – stir
  • Reduce heat and simmer 2 hours stirring occasionally.
  • Serve over pasta or use as sauce for lasagna.

*I use Hunts, you can use the brand of your choice.

3 thoughts on “In Another Dimension I Am Italian!

  1. Oh we have a lot in common! I come from a Polish/Irish household, and cook a few Polish dishes, but Italian …. mmmmmmmm, the pasta! the sauces!
    It’s pasta night in my house. My recipe will be posted tomorrow.
    Glad I found your blog!

  2. Pingback: This n That Thursday « rezichfamilykitchen

Leave a Reply

