“Leave the Rings…….Take the Steaks”

“Leave the Rings….Take the Steak”

I love when a holiday falls on a Sunday especially when Monday becomes the holiday which in turn means Papa Walt has an extra day off and we get to have an extra lazy day.  We slept in, had a cup of coffee and reheated our “Cinnamon French Toast Bake” from New Year’s Day (in the microwave – 1 minute) and I am happy to report it reheated wonderfully!! It was as delicious Monday as it was when I pulled it out of the oven on Sunday morning.

 

Our “Lazy Day” was spent running to the jeweler to get our wedding rings cleaned. I never take my rings off except for when I get them checked and cleaned. I am a Pisces so naturally this is one of those things that I can tend to get emotional about, I buy into the whole “a ring is the circle of life, it has no beginning and no end, the center represents all that is yet to come, it’s worn on the left hand third finger because this finger has a vein that goes directly to the heart.” It’s important to me that my rings are always on they mean a lot to me especially because it came from Walt.

 

So this was going to be an uneventful errand, a simple check a simple cleaning. Well…..no so much. The jeweler noticed my ring finger and asked if I had ever been told that I have the beginning stages of arthritis in my hands. I told him that I had in fact been told that by my doctor early in 2011.
The jeweler suggested that I not wear my ring for a while it seems that my finger is much smaller under the knuckle and the arthritis is causing my knuckle to grow around the ring. We now need to wait and see if the “indention band” around my finger returns to normal. If it does and I can slip my rings back on without a problem all is well. However, the jeweler believes that this will not be the case and I will need to get sizing beads or a spring insert attached to my rings. So long as I can wear them, I don’t care what they have to do.

 

So my sweet husband, knowing that I was out of sorts and knows that I love anything he grills, decided that, on one of the coldest days of the year so far, we should grill steaks , bake potatoes, make a garden salad and watch a movie. It was kind of like a “Godfather” moment, instead of “Leave the gun…..take the cannoli” we “Left the rings and took the steaks.”

 

As always Walt grilled a wonderful meal (even in a little snow fall), his way of letting me know that it’s all going to be all right.

Papa Walt’s Grilled Steaks
2            New York Strip Steaks (about one pound)
1 pkt.     McCormick’s Grill Mates – Brown Sugar Bourbon Marinade

Directions
Mix marinade according to packet directions.
Place steaks in reseal able baggie, pour in marinade and seal. Refrigerate no less than 4 hours.

Remove steaks 30 minutes prior to grilling.
Blot off marinade (this keeps steaks from burning)
Grill on direct heat 4 minutes each side
Remove to wire rack – Let Rest 5 minutes
Serve

Papa Walt’s Baked Potatoes
2      Baking potatoes
Extra Virgin Olive Oil
Sea Salt

Preheat oven to 400 degrees
Poke potatoes on all sides with fork (allows steam to escape)
Rub with EVOO
Roll in Sea Salt
Place directly on wire rack in oven (Place pan or aluminum foil on bottom rack to catch drippings)
Bake 1 hour (or until tender)

Leave a Reply

