Our “TOAST” to the New Year

New Year’s Day was a pretty good day, it was a day filled with family and old friends, board games, football and take-out pizza, you can’t ask for a better way to spend the first day of the year.

Nikki arrived pretty early to pick up lil E, she is a pretty hands on little momma and can’t stand to be apart from her baby boy nor does he like to be away from her too long either. Even now as I write this it brings a smile to my face when I think about the look on that little boys face when he opened his eyes and saw his mommy was lying down next to him. The melt your heart smile and the “ohhh momma you’re here I missed you” as he threw his arms around her neck, was a very touching moment.

For breakfast I wanted to have something on hand that was quick, easy and tasty. I am a big fan of the Pillsbury recipe website http://www.pillsbury.com/recipes/. It was here that I found exactly what I was looking for “Cinnamon French Toast Bake.” I made a few minor changes based on the comments I read, I cut down the eggs to four and because papa is not a big fan of “too sweet,” I did not add the maple syrup before baking.

As promised this dish was quick, easy and tasty, the house smelled wonderful. It received a two thumbs up from papa, a “this is pretty good” from Nikki and a cleaned plate from lil E which means that it will definitely be on our “Make Again” list.

This is a great “anytime” or “pot luck” recipe. We hope you enjoy it as much as we did.

Cinnamon French Toast Bake      http://www.pillsbury.com/recipes/cinnamon-french-toast-bake/e710db37-7d40-4bba-b63e-e6e4ad81ae81/
Ingredients
¼ cup LAND O LAKES® Butter, melted
2 cans Pillsbury® refrigerated cinnamon rolls with icing (12.4 oz. each)
6 LAND O LAKES® Eggs (I used 4)
½ cup Heavy whipping cream
2 teaspoons Ground cinnamon
2 teaspoons Vanilla
1 cup Fisher® Chef’s Naturals® Chopped Pecans
1 cup Maple syrup (I omited)

Garnish
Icing from cinnamon rolls
Powdered sugar
½ cup maple syrup, if desired

*This recipe is easy to cut in half using an 8×8 baking dish

Leave a Reply

